2012 Twirlie Award Winners (Show #533 – February 4, 2012)

Here is the complete list of 2012 Twirlie Award Winners, presented live on Twirl Radio, Saturday, February 4, 2012, in Sacramento, California. Congratulations to all, and more importantly, a big thank you to all the great independent musicians who make it possible for me to do this radio show.

Album of the Year
Maxi Dunn, for her album The Neglected Gambit

Album of the Year Runner up
Vegas With Randolph, for their album Above The Blue

Song of the Year
The Whiskey Saints, for their song Every Little Thing

Song of the Year Runner up
Blake Jones and Tom Magill, for their song Life Turns On A Dime

Female Vocalist of the Year
Emily Zuzik

Male Vocalist of the Year
Bud Rogers

Ear Candy
Laurie Biagini, for her album A Go-Go Girl In A Modern World

Best Debut Album
The Big I Am, for their album Collecting Skies

Best Songwriting
Sal Valentino/John Blakeley, for Sal’s album Dreamin’ Man

Producer of the Year (tie)
Peter Hackett, for Maxi Dunn’s album The Neglected Gambit

Producer of the Year (tie)
Wim Oudijk, for The Big I Am’s album Collecting Skies

Best Line In A Song
Juan Mazzola of Baby Scream, for his song The Last Call. The line was “I wouldn’t care about tomorrow, tomorrow never cared for me.” “I shouldn’t care about your sorrow, sorrow never cared for me.” I’m a little disappointed with you….”

Best Interview, phone
Duncan Faure (former Bay City Roller, now solo artist), 3/12/2011

Best Interview, in-studio
Blake Jones & The Trike Shop, 10/22/2011

Best Live Session
Skip Heller and Debora Iyall, Shine Cafe, Sacramento, 10/29/2011

Best Rock And Roll Moment
1. Japan Radiothon 2011
2. Writing liner notes for Above The Blue by Vegas With Randolph
3. Getting to hear sneak preview of Debora Iyall’s remake of her Romeo Void song A Girl In Trouble (Is A Temporary Thing)–on her Ipod
4. Reaching 500th episode in May
5. Emceeing for the Corner Laughers at their Sacramento gig

Top Albums of 2011:
1. Maxi Dunn – The Neglected Gambit
2. Vegas With Randolph – Above The Blue
3. The Big I Am – Collecting Skies
4. The Handcuffs – Waiting For The Robot
5. Bud Rogers – Whiteout
6. Baby Scream – Secret Place
7. Emily Zuzik Band – The Wild Joys Of Living
8. Bill Mumy – Until The Big Bang Whimpers
9. The Whiskey Saints – 24 Hours
10. Anton Barbeau – Psychedelic Mynde Of Moses

Top Songs of 2011:
1. The Whiskey Saints – Every Little Thing
2. Blake Jones & Tom Magill – Life Turns On A Dime
3. Braam – Burlington Northern
4. The Big I Am – Collecting Skies
5. Maxi Dunn – Make It Better
6. Mad Mush – Silent Snowfall
7. Scott Brookman – The Man From Operations
8. Popdudes – Desperation Time
9. Rob Swanson/Dennis Holseybrook – Rust
10. Agony Aunts – Me Being Maximum
11. John York and Kim Fowley – Angels And Trucks
12. Laurie Biagini – My Little SUV
13. Cult Of Wedge – The Birds and the Bees and Jaime
14. Anton Barbeau – Skunk Hungarian
15. Ben Swidenbank – Leave That Animal Behind
16. Baby Scream – The Last Call
17. The Scratch – Homely Crackle
18. The Britannicas – Bleed Between The Lines
19. Joe Symes – Lost Along The Way
20. Lannie Flowers – Turn Up Your Radio


1 Comment

  1. thanks Mike!!!

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • Click to listen live!

    Click here to listen live
  • Twirl Radio is a part of the Soundwaves TV network

  • Mike Lidskin and Twirl Radio are proud to be a part of Woody Radio

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 2,622 other subscribers